TrIP Biennale Day 15: I love Sanford by Genevieve Tyrrell

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 5.34.11 PM.png

I love Sanford. Since moving to Orlando in 2010, it’s been one of my favorite places and inspires me to create. The artsy and culinary parts can be glorious. So I picked up my pass from Pat Greene at Gallery at Avalon Island for this trip and decided I’d depart from the Winter Park station.

Before heading out, I went to Barney’s Coffee on Park Ave for a salad to go and an iced latte (their coffee is to die for by the way. Get the Ethiopian beans.)

A shuttle driver named Michael greeted me at the Sanford train station. He said it was a free shuttle service and he could take me into town. So I took him up on this offer. Apparently, it’s been running for at least a year or more and I had no idea it existed. Sure, you can take the bus as well, but the shuttle shows up for every train arrival and departure. [Michael also told me about another train system that connects there in Sanford that allows you to transport your car up north (Virginia, etc.). I need to look more into this.]

My itinerary/ stopping points in Sanford:

  1. “Gallery on First”/ Jeanine Taylor Folk Art (if you’ve never been- it’s a must!)
  2. Antiques & Dustibles
  3. Mrs Libby’s Antique Imporium
  4. Something Special & Antiques
  5. German market (run by Hollerbach’s)
  6. Maya’s Books & Music
  7. Hollerbach’s Willow Tree Café German restaurant
  8. Also got to see the art festival beginnings (Sanford has regular festivals that take up half of first street).

At the antique shops I ended up getting some Life magazines from the 60s and a music & lyrics magazine from the 70s to use in collaging for my art.

I’m going to save more illustrations and stories for my next installment. I’ve got a piece started on Michael, and interestingly, he’s drawing a picture of me as well. I’ll pass that along when I have it. Dueling portraits!

Leave a Reply

