TrIP Biennale Day 8: Getting to and from A Place by Paul Finch

aplacegallery

| By Paul Finch |

After I signed up to participate in the TrIP Biennale, I started talking about it a lot. People were always surprised when i told them i was going to take the bus. I think i told them i was going to do it to reinforce to myself that i was going to do it. People seemed to think it was a waste of time to use the bus for even one day. I thought it would fun.

I initially wanted to take the SunRail, and to use a Juice Bike. I wanted to try to run a day of errands with public transportation. As I started figuring out directions to get to the places I needed to go, I realized pretty quickly that I needed to use the bus. The SunRail is certainly more glamorous but if you don’t live in it’s corridor its not helpful yet.

My goal was pretty simple. I was going to drop off a set of table legs at A Place Gallery, buy some art supplies, then head home.

Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 5.00.22 AM

There’s a bus stop a couple hundred feet from my apartment, but I had to walk over a mile to get to the first leg of my journey. Google Maps has pretty accurate public transport schedules so I made it to the bus stop about 2 minutes before the bus came.  I discretely drank some water even though eating and drinking are forbidden on the bus. I only had to make one transfer, and made it to A Place in an hour and ten minutes. It usually take less than 20 minutes for me to drive there.

A wrench was thrown into my plans when I got called in to work as I was putting together the table. I wasn’t sure if I would have enough time to get home to change if i took the bus, but if I canceled my trip to buy art supplies, I would be able to make it. On the return trip, the first bus I was on took longer than Google Maps calculated, so I missed my well timed transfer. The next bus came 10 minutes later than it should have, and instead of stopping to pick me up, it blew past.

Frustrated by the bus ignoring me, and in a crunch to get home in time to get ready for work, I used Uber to get home.

Paul Finch is an interdisciplinary artist, and curator at A Place Gallery.

www.paulefinch.com

Leave a Reply

