TrIP Biennale Day 4: Ped in Pantyhose by Courtney Reynolds

PedInPantyhosePic

| By Courtney Reynolds | 

I have the best job in the world. I help people find a better way to work, like carpooling, biking, walking, and riding transit. I get to meet new people every day and do my bit to make the world a better place.
The single objection that I consistently hear from people across all demographics is that “it’s too hot to ________” (fill in the blank with your favorite alternative mode that you will never try because you might sweat, apparently something that will dissolve your bones and ruin your chances for a successful life).

My TrIP fell on a day when I had a number of work meetings. That meant I needed to dress professionally and be presentable. Shockingly, this did not conflict with my TrIP-appropriate outfit for the day.

I still wore pantyhose.

That’s right, folks: that flesh-toned antique from the 80s that allows you to mask white legs and flatten your gut, or in my case, mask bruises from riding my bike and life with two young sons.
I am happy to report that I was just fine, despite it being 89 degrees on November 4.

Did I sweat? Sure, a little bit.

Did the people I met with back away from me slowly in horror? Nope.

It’s Florida: people sweat walking from the parking lot to the front door.

It’s America: people sweat climbing a single flight of stairs.

There was even a slight breeze that made up for the Double-Dare-Physical-Challenge of crossing East Robinson Street at Broadway Avenue. That is what I captured in this GIF, primarily to reassure everyone that though it’s hot in Florida, you will miss the lovely breezes if you don’t try something new.

IMG_0676.gif

Courtney Reynolds manages reThink, Central Florida’s #1 resource for commute options. Find her on LinkedIn, or connect with the reThink program online at reThinkYourCommute.com, on Facebook or Twitter.

Leave a Reply

