Retro Postcard Series: SunRail

A few years ago, I took an Amtrak train ride from Orlando to Tampa which sparked the romanticism of train travel within me. On that trip, I picked up a booklet of retro postcards of the various Amtrak train routes. The illustrations captured the wanderlust feelings that many people experience. This, along with last month’s postcard posts by Ivan, inspired my contribution for TrIP. As this month’s Artist In Residence, I’ll be sharing my own designs of vintage influenced postcards for Orlando’s transit systems: SunRail, Lynx and Lymmo. While the sounds of a city bus going down the street may not spark the same sense of adventure that a train horn in the distance does, I hope this postcard series can inspire exploration of central Florida with our own public transportation.

Up first, SunRail.

Print

Leave a Reply

