TrIP Blog Day 17: I’m Not Going Nowhere – Poem by Olivia Zuk, Photograph by Aaron Harriss. #TrIP_Orlando #publictransportation

HarrissPhoto_TrIP

We had been staring at each other for hours
I threw my fruit away when I saw the bus coming
I was nervous

He told me he rode today to get out of his house

It’s nice to get out
It really is
           Nice
                To
                   Get

                         Out
     To go                     s o m e w h e r e




             Anywhere




I threw my fruit away
I got nervous

He wouldn’t throw fruit away,

He’s not the type.

 His shirt is worn,

laying loosely around his neck
An old noose.
Faded pants,


Once a royal blue

Grey walker at his feet


Tennis balls


Lackluster Links.

The plastic bag hanging


from the walker


as moss from a cypress


Swaying in the Florida Wind.


Filled with white pamphlets for


Every route, in order.


Dominos that won’t fall.

Careless
              Carless


He offers his assistance
So eager to help.
I Kind of know where I’m going
It doesn’t matter anyhow
I’m not going nowhere
I’ve got nowhere to be

Wouldn’t you kill to be me?
Isn’t life so easy?
We’ve been staring at each other for hours.

I threw my fruit away when I saw the bus coming.


46E or 46W which one’s best?
What’s there to do in Sanford?

Ain’t nothing to do

       Ain’t nowhere to go

                We ain’t going nowhere

He sits back down.

Defeated
He wouldn’t throw fruit away.
No
He’s not the type.


At least he knows where he’s going.
He’s not nervous.
He’s cool as a mother fucking cucumber.
Ever pamphlet in order
Everything in its right place.
A wealth of knowledge.
The missing link.
The pamphlets
The numbers
The lines
The times
The little black reminders
That were not going anywhere


No




we never were.

One thought on “TrIP Blog Day 17: I’m Not Going Nowhere – Poem by Olivia Zuk, Photograph by Aaron Harriss. #TrIP_Orlando #publictransportation

Leave a Reply

